Race To The Ricoh – Champion of Champions Latest

Race To The Ricoh – Champion of Champions Latest

August 22nd, 2016

The field for this year’s Champion of Champions is shaping up, with 2015 winner Neil Robertson set to defend his crown against a field including the likes of Masters victor Ronnie O’Sullivan and World champion Mark Selby.

Ali Carter’s recent World Open win saw him join the field for Ricoh Arena, Coventry this November 7-12.

Eleven players already know they are assured a place in the tournament, with the winner of this week’s Paul Hunter Classic set to join them.

The first 16 unique players named on the Qualification List below will earn a spot at the Champion of Champions. With six tournaments to go until snooker’s showpiece event in Coventry, the winners of the Shanghai Masters, European Championship, English Open, International Championship and the Paul Hunter Classic know they will be invited to play the event, should they not be one of the 11 players already qualified.

The winners of three tournaments; Robin Hull (Snooker Shoot-Out), the 6 Reds World Championship winner (to be played in September) and Mark Davis (World Seniors Championship) sit nervously awaiting confirmation of their place in the event.

Should any of those players already have qualified, the spot will be offered to the next player on the list not to have already received an invite. Should the Qualification List of events not throw up 16 unique winners, any remaining spots will be allocated to the highest placed player(s) on the 2016 World Grand Prix Order of Merit.

Promoted by Matchroom Sport, snooker’s new showpiece event, the Champion of Champions, returns to the Ricoh Arena in Coventry, November 7-12 2016, and will bring together many of the best snooker players on the planet and fans can watch it all live thanks to the extensive coverage provided by ITV4.

With a top prize of £100,000 and current champions of snooker’s major tournaments, including the likes of Ronnie O’Sullivan, Judd Trump, Neil Robertson, Mark Selby and Shaun Murphy, all eligible to compete, the Champion of Champions is set to build on its position as one of the biggest event of the snooker season.

The tournament will start with a quartet of four-man groups, with the winner of each group to progress to the semi-finals. The final on Saturday, November 12 will be over 19 frames.

Tickets are on sale now at www.championofchampionssnooker.co.uk.

2016 Champion of Champions Qualification List
(Players in bold are assured of an invite to the event)

1 Champion of Champions (Nov 2015) Neil Robertson
2 UK Championship (Dec 2015) Neil Robertson
3 The Masters (Jan 2016) Ronnie O’Sullivan
4 German Masters (Feb 2016) Martin Gould
5 Welsh Open (Feb 2016) Ronnie O’Sullivan
6 Championship League (Mar 2016) Judd Trump
7 World Grand Prix (Mar 2016) Shaun Murphy
8 Players Championship (Mar 2016) Mark Allen
9 China Open (Apr 2016) Judd Trump
10 World Championship (May 2016) Mark Selby
11 Indian Open (July 2016) Anthony McGill
12 World Open (July 2016) Ali Carter
13 Shanghai Masters (Sep 2016)
14 European Championship (Oct 2016)
15 English Open (Oct 2016)
16 International Championship (Oct 2016)
17 World Championship Runner-up (May 2016) Ding Junhui
18 Gibraltar Open (Dec 2015) Marco Fu
19 Gdynia Open (Feb 2016) Mark Selby
20 Riga Open (June 2016) Neil Robertson
21 Paul Hunter Classic (Aug 2016)
22 Snooker Shoot Out (Feb 2016) Robin Hull
23 6 Reds World Championship (Sep 2016)
24 World Seniors (Jan 2016) Mark Davis


Cazoo Search.Drive.Smile